Cabinet approves new NITA-Uganda Board of Directors

NITA-U Board of Directors eGovernment Excellence Awards Uganda's centralized data system
James Saaka is the secretary on NITA-U Board of Directors

In a Cabinet meeting held Monday at Office of the President in Kampala, a new Board of Directors (BoDs) for the National Information Technology Authority Uganda (NITA-U) was named.

It will be chaired by John R. Musinguzi.

Musinguzi has previously worked as head of the finance and audit department in the Special Revenue Protection Services and he holds a Master’s degree in Computing and Information systems from the University of Greenwich.

Currently a senior presidential advisor on ICT and Investment, he also holds a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics from Makerere University.

The other members on the NITA-U Board of Directors are Dr. Amina Zawedde, Dr. Annabella Habinka Basaza Ejiri, Dr. Albert Richards Otete, Julius Peter Torach, and James Kabajo Kyewalabye.

James Saaka, the current executive director of the Authority, will serve on the Board as secretary.

The cabinet is mandated by Section 7 of the NITA-U Act, 2009 to approve the Board.

NITA-U in a press statement says it is confident the new board will provide valuable perspectives as they continue to execute their strategy and enhance the lives of Ugandans.

“We’re pleased to welcome the new board members led by John Musinguzi. They join NITA-U at an exciting time as we continue to drive our nationwide effort to digitize our nation and build deeper relationships with MDAs and Ugandans as we fulfill our purpose of enabling lifestyles through the use of ICT,” said Saaka.


Ugandan innovator Anne Rweyora moves Duke of York

Inside govt plan to create one centralized IT data point

To Top