fbpx
Tech

How to unsend messages on Facebook Messenger 

Everyone will now to be able to unsend messages on Facebook Messenger, recall a message using Facebook Messenger 'unsend' feature
Assisted Payment Solutions - Africell Airtime

Facebook has finally allowed all its users to use the Messenger ‘unsend’ feature that lets you delete messages from a conversation after you’ve sent them.

This feature was first announced in late 2018 and was only available in a few countries.

As of  5th Feb. 2019, the feature was made available for everyone on both iOS and Android apps, including web messenger.

Everyone will now to be able to unsend messages on Facebook Messenger, that is being able to recall a message that you realised was sent in error or had content you didn’t want a person on the other end to see.

The Facebook Messenger ‘unsend’ feature allows you only 10 minutes from the time you press Send to delete the message. After that, the message will stay put.

How to unsend messages on Facebook Messenger 

1. Update the Facebook Messenger app on your phone to access the new feature and if you are using web Messenger, refresh the page by pressing the F5 button on your keyboard.

See also: Why Apple doesn’t promote itself on social media

2. For mobile phone users, Tap on the message you to want to remove in the chat and it will come up with two options: “Remove for Everyone” or “Remove for You”.

3. Whereas for web messenger, move the cursor to the message you want to delete and slide it to the three dots and click remove for the two ‘message remove’ options to appear.

4. Click “Remove for Everyone” and the message will be deleted from both the sender and recipient, and will be replaced with an alert that tells everyone a message was removed.

But bear in mind that you only have 10 minutes to usend messages on Facebook Messenger, else the feature won’t be of much use to you.

Related:

WhatsApp’s Swipe to Reply feature making texting more swift

5 things you should do if your WhatsApp is hacked

To Top